RoamAbout DS w/ NetStumbler & Win2000

Configuration and other hardware related information

RoamAbout DS w/ NetStumbler & Win2000

Postby Turorit » Mon Dec 12, 2005 4:27 am

Recently I purchased a 2nd-hand Compaq Armada 1750 laptop (366mhz, 128mb ram, 6gig hdd) to use as a wardriving rig. I installed windows 2000 pro and all was well. Unfortunately when it came time to play around with netstumbler, I found that I was being given a constant result of -96signal for all the APs which had been detected.

I have read many threads on this forum about swapping drivers around to make it work, but this has not helped. One thread mentioned to try the orinoco drivers, but I was unable to source them, due to the fact that the orinoco site does not work. I have tried the following drivers: enterasys, lucent, proxim, and agere.

The details of my card are:
Enterasys Cabletron RoamAbout DS High Rate
High Rate/40 Bit WEP
P/N CSIBD-AB & P/N 012397/B
T/N 04748628
ministerie van verkeer en waterstaat
NL99061474 |
-----------------------------
R0167 SRD3a | Ue990137
------------------------------
RTT/RL/X114 |
------------------------------
BAKOM 99.0538.L.P

(this information does not make much sense to me, but it was on the back of the card)

-----------------------------------
Date: 2005/12/12 22:40:09

OS: WIN2000 Version 5.00 Service Pack 4 Build 2195

Variant 1, Version 3.30 of Client Manager
Variant 2, Version 7.86 of NDIS 5 Miniport driver
Variant 1, Version 4.00 of RoamAbout 802.11 DS
Encryption capabilities: WEP
Max. data rate: 11 Mbit/s
0048894372
Variant 1, Version 4.00 of Primary Functions firmware
Variant 2, Version 9.42 of Station Functions firmware

Radio link Ok but unable to retrieve BS name.
--------------------

I have attatched 2 files (zipped), showing the problem that I am having. The txt file contains the data from the client manager of the card, and I believe this information is accurate.


If anybody can provide me with a link to suitable drivers/a fix, or suggest a better card, I would appriciate it.

Thanks in advance, Turorit
Attachments
roamabout.zip
(5.98 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
User avatar
Turorit
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:34 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Postby MikeP928 » Mon Dec 12, 2005 5:53 am

Are you running the card using NDIS or native drivers? It sounds like NDIS. I have 11 of the Enterasys cards with various f/w levels, and have never had a problem with any of them.

MikeP
Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote.
-- Benjamin Franklin, 1759
User avatar
MikeP928
 
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 8:09 pm
Location: Florida Panhandle

Postby Turorit » Mon Dec 12, 2005 5:29 pm

NetStumbler reports that its NDIS 5.1, so that would be the problem.
Like I said before, I have tried numerous drivers now, none which have worked. As I use this card for general webbrowsing and also wardriving, I need to find a driver that is suitable for both applications.

Turorit
User avatar
Turorit
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:34 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Postby streaker69 » Mon Dec 12, 2005 5:46 pm

Turorit wrote:NetStumbler reports that its NDIS 5.1, so that would be the problem.
Like I said before, I have tried numerous drivers now, none which have worked. As I use this card for general webbrowsing and also wardriving, I need to find a driver that is suitable for both applications.

Turorit


Buy a card that is properly supported by NS and your signal readings will be correct.
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby Turorit » Mon Dec 12, 2005 6:19 pm

Yeah I mentioned purchasing a new card in my 1st post, it's just a matter of finding a reasonably cheap one that will work with NS. Any suggestions? (I'll search the forum aswell)

Turorit
Keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're upto :rolleyes:
User avatar
Turorit
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:34 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Postby streaker69 » Mon Dec 12, 2005 6:26 pm

Turorit wrote:Yeah I mentioned purchasing a new card in my 1st post, it's just a matter of finding a reasonably cheap one that will work with NS. Any suggestions? (I'll search the forum aswell)

Turorit


Why don't you search the forum and report back. We'll tell you if you picked the right one or not.
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby MikeP928 » Mon Dec 12, 2005 6:46 pm

The Enterasys card is an orinoco/hermes card. Go to http://www.enterasys.com and download the latest drivers. The WSU utility will let you screw with the firmware if you feel you just have to do it. I have 4 of these cards running fine with NS right now.

They work. I have set up 400-500 of these in notebooks and APs, and I have only seen one die.

MikeP
Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote.
-- Benjamin Franklin, 1759
User avatar
MikeP928
 
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 8:09 pm
Location: Florida Panhandle

Postby Turorit » Mon Dec 12, 2005 8:17 pm

I've just been to the enterasys site, and the drivers I am running at the moment are the latest ones (7.86)
I tried to download the WSU firmware thing, but the links are all invalid so therefore I cannot get it.
'The requested URL "/akadl.enterasys.com/software/RoamAbout/CSIxD/win/RoamAbout-Client-WIN95-98-2000-ME-NT-XP-786-sw.exe", is invalid.

Reference #9.e8c3bcb.1134447169.0 '
Keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're upto :rolleyes:
User avatar
Turorit
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:34 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Postby streaker69 » Mon Dec 12, 2005 8:19 pm

Turorit wrote:I've just been to the enterasys site, and the drivers I am running at the moment are the latest ones (7.86)
I tried to download the WSU firmware thing, but the links are all invalid so therefore I cannot get it.
'The requested URL "/akadl.enterasys.com/software/RoamAbout/CSIxD/win/RoamAbout-Client-WIN95-98-2000-ME-NT-XP-786-sw.exe", is invalid.

Reference #9.e8c3bcb.1134447169.0 '


Ever hear of google?

http://www.wireless.utoronto.ca/setup/drivers/RoamAbout/
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby Turorit » Mon Dec 12, 2005 8:38 pm

Yes as a matter of fact, I have heard of Google.
Have you considered thoroughly reading my post? If you had done so, you would've realised that I am running v7.86 drivers, and the link you just posted is for the v7.86 drivers which I am already using, thus making that link irrelevant to the situation.
Keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're upto :rolleyes:
User avatar
Turorit
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:34 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Postby streaker69 » Mon Dec 12, 2005 8:40 pm

Turorit wrote:Yes as a matter of fact, I have heard of Google.
Have you considered thoroughly reading my post? If you had done so, you would've realised that I am running v7.86 drivers, and the link you just posted is for the v7.86 drivers which I am already using, thus making that link irrelevant to the situation.


Then why would you post an error message to a file that you already have?
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby Turorit » Mon Dec 12, 2005 8:44 pm

My apologies, I intended to paste THIS error message:

Invalid URL
The requested URL "/akadl.enterasys.com/software/RoamAbout/CSIxD/wsu/RoamAbout-WSU-606-pkg.zip", is invalid.

Reference #9.e8c3bcb.1134448966.0

Turorit
Keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're upto :rolleyes:
User avatar
Turorit
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:34 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Postby streaker69 » Mon Dec 12, 2005 8:45 pm

Turorit wrote:My apologies, I intended to paste THIS error message:

Invalid URL
The requested URL "/akadl.enterasys.com/software/RoamAbout/CSIxD/wsu/RoamAbout-WSU-606-pkg.zip", is invalid.

Reference #9.e8c3bcb.1134448966.0

Turorit


Again, google is your friend.

http://members.driverguide.com/driver/detail.php?driverid=374685

http://tecun.cimex.com.cu/tecun/software/Soporte%20Tecnico%20de%20Redes/Enterasys/Wireless/Roamabout/Firmwares/
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby Turorit » Mon Dec 12, 2005 8:56 pm

Thanks for that. It helps if you know exactly what keywords to use in google, otherwise you end up with junk.

After downloading that firmware, I've realised that it is no use to me anyway, as I have v9.09 station firmware, and that update was to change it to v6.06.

It seems that I am back at the start, I still havn't found a solution to this problem. Would it make any difference if I converted it to a gold card (other than encryption) ?
Keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're upto :rolleyes:
User avatar
Turorit
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:34 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Postby wrzwaldo » Mon Dec 12, 2005 9:07 pm

Turorit wrote:Thanks for that. It helps if you know exactly what keywords to use in google, otherwise you end up with junk.

After downloading that firmware, I've realised that it is no use to me anyway, as I have v9.09 station firmware, and that update was to change it to v6.06.

It seems that I am back at the start, I still havn't found a solution to this problem. Would it make any difference if I converted it to a gold card (other than encryption) ?


Usually I just type what the "search challenged" ask in here and get it in the first page of hits. Guess I'm just lucky like that.
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests