key found

key found

Postby maxtor » Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:53 pm

My current situation is this,

I have created a wireless network with a 64 bit WEP password. I am the root user and only have one computer on the network. I am running windows XP home.

I discovered this site while checking on WEP encryption strength and such. I have used the search button many of times and looked through all the questions that I had. In return you have been able to help me.

Now I am at the point where I not sure what to do. I was able to collect all the IV's that i needed with Airodump. Then i proceeded to transfer all of those over to aircrack 2.3, which was successful. So now i have the command prompt up with a "key found" along with what seems to be a hex number or something.

My goal is to break into my AP from a remote location. Im not sure what I am suppose to do from this point to convert this hex or whatever it is into characters. Any and all help would be appreciated. Thanks.

-Maxtor
maxtor
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:04 am
Location: currently, Iraq

Postby Airstreamer » Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:58 pm

maxtor wrote:My current situation is this,

I have created a wireless network with a 64 bit WEP password. I am the root user and only have one computer on the network. I am running windows XP home.

I discovered this site while checking on WEP encryption strength and such. I have used the search button many of times and looked through all the questions that I had. In return you have been able to help me.

Now I am at the point where I not sure what to do. I was able to collect all the IV's that i needed with Airodump. Then i proceeded to transfer all of those over to aircrack 2.3, which was successful. So now i have the command prompt up with a [color="Red"]"key found"[/color] along with what seems to be a hex number or something.

My goal is to break into my AP from a remote location. Im not sure what I am suppose to do from this point to convert this hex or whatever it is into characters. Any and all help would be appreciated. Thanks.

-Maxtor


Oh, Grasshopper, what you seek what is right under your nose! (Or maybe other body parts?) :D
"But when we disarmed They sold us and delivered us bound to our foe,
And the Gods of the Copybook Headings said: "Stick to the Devil you know.""

- Rudyard Kipling
User avatar
Airstreamer
 
Posts: 2703
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:26 pm
Location: A little North of Reason

Postby maxtor » Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:05 pm

Airstreamer wrote:Oh, Grasshopper, what you seek what is right under your nose! (Or maybe other body parts?) :D



I attempted to input the hex that was given (by aircrack) to me, to connect to my network from a separate machine. The hex or whatever it is does not work. This leads me to believe that i must convert it to plain text.

I then connected to my wireless network through the default "view available wireless networks" in windows XP. At this time it asked for my password, so i input the hex i was given from the prompt. Which of course was incorrect. So I am back to my original question.

I attempted to convert Hex to ascii, along with binary. Forwards and backwards. With no avail. Im at a lose. Thanks.


-Maxtor
maxtor
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:04 am
Location: currently, Iraq

Postby Dutch » Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:20 pm

maxtor wrote:I attempted to input the hex that was given (by aircrack) to me, to connect to my network from a separate machine. The hex or whatever it is does not work. This leads me to believe that i must convert it to plain text.


-Maxtor

If it's a 64 bit key, there should be 10 characters for the 5 hex numbers. If you are using WZC as your card manager, enter the hex pairs directly, and it should figure out that it is hex and a 64bit key. I.E. hex key = 01:02:03:04:05 is entered in WZC as 0102030405.


Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby beakmyn » Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:29 pm

WEP cracking must be getting too easy if someone is smart enough to know how to setup their router but not smart enough to verify if the number that air-crack found is there own.


Things aren't adding up here, since no one is "showing their cards, yet". Are you sure cracked your WEP and not another AP with the same name? You verified the MAC address of your router against the router Aircrack cracked the WEP for?

Is your router set-up to accept a HEX key?

Does the HEX key match the one found on your computer using WZCook?
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby theprez98 » Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:40 pm

696620796f752063616e2064656369706865722074686973206d65737361676520796f75206172652077617920746f6f20736d61727420746f20626520637261636b696e6720776570
[font="Courier New"]"\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";[/font]
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby maxtor » Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:24 pm

Okay thanks all.
The problem was when i was trying to connect, I was including the semi colon's. Im sort of new and all so I appreciate the patience. Thank you.

-Maxtor
maxtor
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:04 am
Location: currently, Iraq

Postby Dutch » Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:26 pm

maxtor wrote:Okay thanks all.
The problem was when i was trying to connect, I was including the semi colon's. Im sort of new and all so I appreciate the patience. Thank you.

-Maxtor

No problem, I kind of figured that was the problem. THe only reason you got help on this, was your previous posts. Are you still running around in the sandbox ?

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby maxtor » Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:29 pm

Yes.

Actually I just recieved orders to come back.
So i decided to setup a Wlan so me and some friends could play tribes together. Yes I know its an old game but we still enjoy it.

-Maxtor
maxtor
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:04 am
Location: currently, Iraq

Postby Barry » Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:31 pm

maxtor wrote:Yes.

Actually I just recieved orders to come back.
So i decided to setup a Wlan so me and some friends could play tribes together. Yes I know its an old game but we still enjoy it.

-Maxtor



Beats making sand castles.
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Dutch » Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:33 pm

maxtor wrote:Yes.

Actually I just recieved orders to come back.
So i decided to setup a Wlan so me and some friends could play tribes together. Yes I know its an old game but we still enjoy it.

-Maxtor

You should get in touch with some of the other regulars who are in theater at the moment. PM theprez98 and bobfunland, they are also enjoying having sand between their toes on a daily basis.. :D

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby maxtor » Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:34 pm

:)

Thanks for the information. I will do that once we are completely settled in. It might be a week or two though.

-Maxtor
maxtor
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:04 am
Location: currently, Iraq

Postby theprez98 » Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:12 pm

Dutch wrote:You should get in touch with some of the other regulars who are in theater at the moment. PM theprez98 and bobfunland, they are also enjoying having sand between their toes on a daily basis.. :D

Dutch

On the other hand, I *am* building sand castles.
Attachments
sandCastle.jpg
sandCastle.jpg (19.27 KiB) Viewed 616 times
[font="Courier New"]"\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";[/font]
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby Dutch » Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:19 pm

theprez98 wrote:On the other hand, I *am* building sand castles.

You, my friend, are having FAR to much spare time for your own good. Don't you have something important to do, such as making NIPRNET faster or sumthin' like that ?

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby Barry » Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:51 pm

NIPERNET, SIPERNET and faster should never be used in the same sentence. It's like military intelligence, or smart tard.
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Next

Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests